In 9th and 10th grades students work on team projects, complete core academic classes, and begin exploring career fields. At the end of 10th grade, they choose an academy in which to focus their learning:

· Business Academy
· Fine Arts Academy
· Graphic Arts Academy
· Health Careers Academy
· Human Services Academy
· Leadership Academy
· Learning Center for Applied Technology (LCAT)
· Professional Sciences Academy
· Video Media Academy

The purpose for the academies is not to train students for specific careers (though they do gain useful career-related knowledge and skills), but to provide a context for learning that empowers them to acquire academic content and apply it to real world issues.